Portal Rasmi

Majlis Perbandaran Alor Gajah

PERKHIDMATAN
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

The Naning Heritage and History Museum

Historic Background:

This PWD 2100 and 2101 building was constructed in 1951 at Bukit Naning (Bukit Pereling), Kampung Simpang Ampat, Alor Gajah, Melaka. This building was the Official Residency and Hall for Penghulu Naning (Chief of Naning). This Official Residency and Hall was first used in 1953 by Penghulu Haji Mohd Shah bin Mohd Said al-Haj, the 18th Penghulu of Naning as the Administrative Centre for Perpatih Customs in Naning until his death on 13th June 2004.

On 2nd March 2015, the Alor Gajah District and Land Office (Pejabat Daerah dan Tanah Alor Gajah-PDTAG) issued a building evacuation notice to its previous owners. The building was then officially handed over to Perbadanan Muzium Melaka (PERZIM) on the 9th of April 2015 for conservation. Conservation works began on 14th April 2015 and were completed on 30th June 2015 utilizing allocations from the Melaka State Conservation and Restoration Trust Fund. This building was proposed to become the Naning Heritage and History Museum that would house cultural and historical exhibits and as an information centre to attract more tourists to Melaka. The establishment of this museum indirectly presents rural tourism products at the international level.

Objective:

The establishment of the Naning Heritage and History Museum is to fulfil the following aims:

  1. To showcase the history and heritage of Naning to the general public;
  2. As a centre of information, exhibitions and references on the heritage and history of Naning; and
  3. As an education-based tourism product that benefits the local community.

Gallery

Info Pantas

Address

Muzium Warisan & Sejarah Naning
Jalan Datuk Naning, 78000 Alor Gajah, Melaka.

Skip to content